Executive Committee

There are twenty-six elected members on the AFT Connecticut Executive Committee, including the four lead officers who oversee day-today activities. Together they make decisions implementing policy and goals set by the Convention and Delegate Assembly. The committee meets monthly to make sure the union is working well to fulfill its mission serve its members. 

The current members of the Executive Committee were elected in May, 2019 by delegates to the 72nd annual business convention for two year terms effective July 1, 2019.

Division Vice Presidents

Mary Yordon
Bill Garrity, RN
Nurses and Health Professionals
Ed Leavy
Public Employees
Shellye Davis
Paraprofessionals and School-Related Personnel
Dennis Bogusky
Higher Education
Laila A. Mandour

At-Large Vice Presidents

Mike Barry
David Cicarella
John DiSette
Sal Escobales
Ivonne Hamm, RN
Heather Howlett
Andrea Johnson
Stephanie Johnson, RPSGT
Deborah Kern
Tom Kuroski
Kristen Malloy Scanlon
Steve McKeever
Ally Sexton
Janie Stauffer, RN
Mary Symkowicz
Krista Vermeal
Mike White

* Updated, Sep. 12, 2019